Schools & Universities

FGG Architects has been involved with the design and development of several great schools across the country since the firm’s inception. The practice is currently involved with Durban High School (DHS), Durban Girls College (DGC), Epworth School, Laddsworth College and Hilton College. Past projects also include buildings at St. Mary’s Kloof and St. Mary’s Johannesburg, as well as several rural schools across KwaZulu-Natal for the Department of Education and Department of Public Works.

Beyond school architecture, projects have also been completed at tertiary institutions, such as Durban University of Technology (DUT) and the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN).

When FGG was established in 1953, Hilton College was one of the founding clients for the practice. This relationship continues today and the firm has helped shape the school over the past 65 years. It was FGG’s decision to have a unified design language and to convert the red brick buildings to the iconic white plastered buildings that are synonymous with the college today.